A review of the Sakura Koi Watercolor Field Set

Ever since I started doing and playing with watercolor, I’ve been so engrossed on getting a Sakura Koi Watercolor Field Sketch. I have been reading and watching tons of reviews, and I can’t wait to get my hands on the said product.

I am currently obsessed with this set. I recently bought it from a seller on OLX, who is now on Instagram, who sells it cheaper than everywhere else, and so far, I’m pretty happy with it.

The 24-color set contain:
• A large size water reservoir barrel
• A detachable medium brush tip
• Two dabbing sponges
• A snap lid acts as an easel for postcard size paper
• The detachable, pegged palette secures to the kit base either to the right, left or center sides
• A base pull-down ring allows easy gripping of the kit

The brush tip is a fine and flexible nylon fiber, good for thin and broad strokes. Although, the only thing I don’t like about the water brush is that the water is continuous, even without pressing, so the tip is always wet. Note that the brush screws the other way (anticlockwise). They made it this way so that it won’t unscrew when you keep moving the brush in your hand.

Another thing that’s been bothering me is that the colors stain the white brush tip. I’m sure this is normal, since most of my white brushes are now colored, but hey, I’d like to keep it pristine.

One thing I like about this set, is the palette. I like that they have different shades of colors, and that the color is as bright or as dark as it can be. The picture above is the palette I made, to know what the color actually looks like on paper. (The left one is on a normal bond paper, while on the right is a page from a Calligrapad.)

So far, I’m enjoying playing with the set. It’s very handy and lightweight, and you can bring it everywhere.

4 stars out of 5.

2 thoughts on “A review of the Sakura Koi Watercolor Field Set

Leave a Reply

