Brush Lettering & Calligraphy Workshop by Anina Rubio

I was very curious on how calligraphy workshops works. So I joined one.

It was last March 14, 2015 at Scarsdale in Shaw. I attended a Brush Lettering Workshop by Anina Rubio Included in the workshop is the materials you will need to start the craft. Kit includes:

  • Watercolor Paper (Berkley and Canson)
  • 1 8-Color Prang Watercolor
  • A pencil
  • A Deovir No.5 Paint Brush
  • 1 Kuretake Zig Brush Writer
  • 1 Pentel Aquash Fine

Drafts and the final watercolor lettering I did. Sample works by Anina.

Anina was a very fun teacher. She was chatting with us, and was going around to check and help her students. I also learned a lot, especially the techniques in watercolor. I still can’t control my colors since I keep dipping my brush straight from the pan. Which I now know that I should mix it first so that the color would be consistent.

With that, I would definitely join different workshops in the future, because it’s fun learning when you’re enjoying.

Leave a Reply

